Voter interest has been light so far for the May 21 primary election, and officials believe that will translate into a very low turnout at the polls. Wayne County Clerk Heather Piercy stated that she expects only 18 to 20 percent of local voters to cast ballots on Tuesday, May 21.
Only 32 voters had used either the absentee machine or traditional paper ballots in Wayne County as of last Thursday, according to Piercy. She attributed the low turnout to the fact there are no local races on the ballot. Piercy added that she does not think a lot of people are aware of the races that will be decided in the primary election.
At the top of the ballot is the race for governor. Incumbent Governor Matt Bevin is opposed by three other republican candidates in the race. They include Robert Goforth, Ike Lawrence and William E. Woods.
On the democratic side of the ballot, four candidates are seeking their party's nomination for governor. They include Rocky Adkins Andy Beshear, Adam Edelen and Geoffrey M. Young.
Voters across the state will also made decisions in other statewide races, including Attorney General, where there are only two republican candidates—Daniel Cameron and Wil Schroder.
Greg D. Stumbo, a democrat, is unopposed in the primary race for Attorney General.
Kentucky Agriculture Commissioner Ryan F. Quarles is seeking another term in office. He is facing Bill Polyniak on the republican side of the ballot.
Two democrats are seeking the office of Agriculture Commissioner. They include Robert Haley Conway and Joe Trigg.
Four republican candidates are seeking their party's nomination for Secretary of State. They include: Michael G. Adams, Andrew English, Stephen L. Knipper and Carl Nett. On the democratic side of the ballot, Jason S. Belcher, Jason Griffith, Heather French Henry and Geoff Sebesta are seeking their party's nomination for Secretary of State.
Four democratic candidates are seeking the office of Auditor of Public Accounts. They include: Kelsey Hayes Coots, Drew Curtis, Sheri Donahue and Chris Tobe.
Incumbent Mike Harmon is unopposed on the republican slate in his bid for re-election as Auditor of Public Accounts.
Two democratic candidates are seeking the office of State Treasurer, they include Michael Bowman and Josh Mers.
Incumbent Allison Ball is not opposed on the republican ballot for State Treasurer.
Local polls will be open from 6 a.m. until 6 p.m. on May 21. Piercy noted that there have been no precinct changes for this election. Voters in the Elk Creek precinct will vote at The Loft that is located on South Main Street. That same location was used last fall, after the precinct was moved from the former Wayne County preschool building.
Piercy also noted that the clerk's office will only handle election related business on May 21.
Anyone with election related questions should contact her office at (606) 348-6661,

This Week's Circulars

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.